SMALL SECONDS.
Kurono Tokyo Bunkyo Tokyo (classic series)
Kurono Tokyo Bunkyo Tokyo (classic series) · Photo: Kurono Tokyo
HomeBrands › Kurono Tokyo

Kurono Tokyo watches, model by model

Kurono Tokyo released four watches in 2026 at $1,850 to $2,700, each sold in a single timed online window, one per customer, none to be repeated. The Calendrier SBR opens on 24 September 2026 at $2,380, and on the check date it was the only Kurono a buyer could still order.

Checked 20 September 2026 · list prices on the maker's site that day unless marked street

Kurono Tokyo is the accessible line of Hajime Asaoka, the independent watchmaker, and every watch is designed by him and marked Made in Japan; the product pages do not name the assembly site. It sells one way. There is no stock, no retailer and no waitlist that converts: a model is announced, an online order window opens at a stated hour in Japan Standard Time, one order per customer, and when the window closes the model is finished. Two salons, in Tokyo Aoyama and Shanghai, take pre-orders in person, and Salon Editions are sold only there. Prices are shown in US dollars excluding VAT and duties, so a US buyer pays tariffs on top of the figure in the table.

The spec sheets settle the case and the movement. The dress watches are 37 mm in 316L steel, high-polished, with a 20 mm lug tapering to 16 mm at the buckle and a sapphire box crystal; the 2026 Calendrier is 38 mm. Thickness is 11.5 mm with the crystal and 7 mm without on the three-handers, 10 mm without on the Calendrier. Movements are Miyota: the 90S5 automatic at 28,800 vph in the three-handers and the 9122 triple calendar in the Calendrier. Water resistance is 50 m on the 2026 dress pieces and 30 m on the Inseki and the Bunkyo Tokyo, though the Anniversary Malachite's page says 5 ATM where Monochrome says 30 m.

The warranty is the shortest on this site and the strictest: 1 year from fulfilment, claims in the first 6 months from anyone but the original buyer are refused, and a watch found on the resale market inside 6 months loses its cover. The Diver is the outlier in every column, a 46 mm crownless outer case around a 35 mm cushion watch, sold by ballot with priority to certified divers, and its $2,700 comes from Hypebeast rather than the brand, which had no page for it on the check date.

BasedTokyo, Japan (Aoyama salon) with a second salon in Shanghai
AssembledProduct pages state 'Made in Japan'; assembly site not named. Designed by independent watchmaker Hajime Asaoka.
MovementsMiyota 9122 automatic triple calendar, Miyota 90S5 automatic, Automatic (caliber unstated) in the 2026 Diver
Price range$1,850–$2,700
SoldDirect only: timed online order windows on kuronotokyo.com plus in-salon pre-orders in Tokyo Aoyama and Shanghai; Salon Editions are salon-only
WarrantyOne year from fulfilment; claims within the first six months by anyone other than the original buyer are rejected and watches found on the resale market within six months lose the warranty

Every current model, side by side

WatchMovementCaseLug to lugThickWRPrice
Kurono Tokyo Bunkyo Tokyo (classic series)automatic37 mm30 m
Kurono Tokyo 2026 Anniversary Malachiteautomatic37 mm45 mm11.5 mm50 m$1,850
Kurono Tokyo 2026 Special Projects 37mm Inseki (meteorite)automatic37 mm11.5 mm30 m$1,850
Kurono Tokyo Calendrier SBR (2026)automatic38 mm11.5 mm50 m$2,380
Kurono Tokyo Kurono Diver (crownless, 2026)automatic46 mm300 m$2,700

Read the table by window. The Bunkyo Tokyo and the rest of the classic series are sold out with no price shown; the Inseki sold out in January and the Anniversary Malachite in May; the Diver's ballot closed in March. The Calendrier SBR is the open one, on 24 September 2026 at 23:00 JST. Prices are the brand's ex-VAT dollar figures except the Diver's.

Kurono Tokyo Bunkyo Tokyo (classic series)
Photo: Kurono Tokyo

Ø37 mm · automatic · 30 m · No price shown · sold out

Kurono Tokyo Bunkyo Tokyo (classic series)

Movementmechanical automatic, 24 jewels, 28,800 vph, 40h reserve (caliber not named on page)
Case37 mm
Lug to lug
Thickness
Lug width20 mm
Water resistance30 m
Crystalsapphire
Bezelfixed
Case material316L high-polished stainless steel, solid caseback
Price

The classic-series Kurono, and the row with no price, because the brand page showed none on 19 September 2026, only Sold Out: 37 mm, 30 m, sapphire, 316L high-polished, 20 mm lug and 16 mm at the buckle, an automatic whose calibre the page does not name. The collection page lists the Seiji, Toki, Mori and Bunkyo Tokyo together, all sold out, and the all-products collection was empty. It is in the table so the range is complete; it is not something a buyer can act on. A 37 mm Japanese dress automatic that can be bought this month is Serica's 1174 Parade at $1,760, 35 mm and 8.2 mm on a COSC Soprod, which is Swiss, not Japanese.

See it at Kurono Tokyo

Spec sheet: kuronotokyo.com, checked 19 September 2026. Kurono Tokyo brand page.

Kurono Tokyo 2026 Special Projects 37mm Inseki (meteorite)
Photo: Kurono Tokyo

Ø37 mm · automatic · 30 m · $1,850 · Meteorite · sold out

Kurono Tokyo 2026 Special Projects 37mm Inseki (meteorite)

MovementMiyota 90S5 automatic, 24 jewels, 28,800 vph, ~40h
Case37 mm
Lug to lug
Thickness11.5 mm
Lug width20 mm
Water resistance30 m
CrystalSapphire box crystal
BezelFixed, high-polished
LumeNot stated
Case material316L steel, high-polished
Price$1,850

The meteorite Kurono at $1,850, sold out since its single global window on 15 January 2026 at 23:00 JST: 37 mm, 11.5 mm with the crystal and 7 mm without, 30 m, Miyota 90S5, a Muonionalusta meteorite dial with hand-painted Breguet numerals, calf strap on a 20/16 mm lug. Zelos's Comet 39 Meteorite is $2,099 at 39 mm, 45 mm lug-to-lug and 9.4 mm on a hand-wound Peseux 7001, and Baltic's Prismic Stone is €1,450 at 36 mm and 9.2 mm; both are thinner, both are Swiss-movement, and the Zelos had 37 pieces remaining on the check date. The Inseki's argument is the numerals and Asaoka's name on the dial.

See it at Kurono Tokyo

Spec sheet: kuronotokyo.com, checked 19 September 2026. Kurono Tokyo brand page.

Kurono Tokyo 2026 Anniversary Malachite
Photo: Kurono Tokyo

Ø37 mm · automatic · 50 m · $1,850 · Anniversary · window closed

Kurono Tokyo 2026 Anniversary Malachite

11.5 mm thick
37 × 45 mm · ref 40 × 47
MovementMiyota 90S5 automatic, 24 jewels, 28,800 vph, ~40h
Case37 mm
Lug to lug45 mm
Thickness11.5 mm
Lug width20 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire box crystal
BezelFixed, high-polished
LumeNot stated
Case material316L steel, high-polished
Price$1,850

The anniversary piece at $1,850 ex-VAT, RMB 15,800 at the Shanghai salon, sold in two windows on 28 May 2026 at 11:00 and 23:00 JST, one per customer, delivering from July and not to be repeated: 37 mm, 11.5 mm, 50 m on the brand's page, Miyota 90S5, sapphire box crystal. The 45 mm lug-to-lug is Monochrome's measurement, not the brand's, which publishes none. Against the Inseki it is the same case with malachite in place of meteorite and 50 m stated in place of 30. anOrdain's Model 1 is £1,790 before VAT at 38 mm, 42 mm lug-to-lug and 10.1 mm with an enamel dial fired in Glasgow, and it takes orders.

See it at Kurono Tokyo

Spec sheet: kuronotokyo.com, checked 19 September 2026. Kurono Tokyo brand page.

Kurono Tokyo Calendrier SBR (2026)
Photo: Kurono Tokyo

Ø38 mm · automatic · 50 m · $2,380 · Next window · 24 Sep 2026

Kurono Tokyo Calendrier SBR (2026)

MovementMiyota 9122 automatic triple calendar, 26 jewels, 28,800 vph, 40h
Case38 mm
Lug to lug
Thickness11.5 mm
Lug width20 mm
Water resistance50 m
CrystalSapphire box crystal
BezelFixed, high-polished
LumeNot stated
Case material316L steel, high-polished
Price$2,380

The one Kurono still to be sold, at $2,380 excluding VAT and duties, JPY 376,750 tax included, in a single online window on 24 September 2026 at 23:00 JST, one per customer, delivering from the end of October: 38 mm, 11.5 mm with the crystal and 10 mm without, 50 m, Miyota 9122 automatic triple calendar showing month, day and date, Saxe blue dial, sapphire box crystal. Charlie Paris's Alliance Phase de Lune is €1,795 at 39.5 mm and 9 mm on a Soprod C105 with a moonphase; Farer's Stratton Moonphase is $2,075 at 38.5 mm and 11.5 mm. At $2,380 the money is the 38 mm case and Asaoka's dial, not the calibre.

See it at Kurono Tokyo

Spec sheet: kuronotokyo.com, checked 19 September 2026. Kurono Tokyo brand page.

Kurono Tokyo Kurono Diver (crownless, 2026)
Photo: Kurono Tokyo

Ø46 mm · automatic · 300 m · $2,700 · Ballot · price via Hypebeast

Kurono Tokyo Kurono Diver (crownless, 2026)

MovementAutomatic, caliber not stated
Case46 mm
Lug to lug
Thickness
Lug width
Water resistance300 m
CrystalNot stated
BezelExtra Super Duralumin, hard-anodised red
LumeNot stated
Case materialStainless steel outer case; 35mm cushion inner watch
Price$2,700

The Diver, and the row whose price is not the brand's: $2,700 per Hypebeast on 6 March 2026, sold by global ballot with priority to certified divers, closed on 11 March, and absent from the brand site on the check date. A 46 mm crownless stainless outer case holds a 35 mm cushion inner watch; 10 ATM hand-tightened, 300 m tool-secured; the bezel is Extra Super Duralumin, hard-anodised red. Calibre, crystal, thickness and lug-to-lug are not stated. Serica's 5303 is $1,850 at 39 mm and 12.2 mm with 300 m and a COSC certificate; MONTA's Oceanking is $2,550 at 40.5 mm; both publish a full sheet. The Kurono is the engineering curiosity, and 46 mm.

See it at Kurono Tokyo

Spec sheet: hypebeast.com, checked 19 September 2026. Kurono Tokyo brand page.

Who it is for

Kurono Tokyo is for the buyer who wants Hajime Asaoka's design at Miyota money and is prepared to be at a keyboard at 23:00 Japan time to get it. The 37 mm case and 20 mm lug suit a small wrist, and the one lug-to-lug in the data, Monochrome's 45 mm for the Malachite, is short; the 46 mm Diver is the exception and a different proposition. Look elsewhere if you want to buy today, since nothing was in stock on 19 September 2026 and the next window is the Calendrier on the 24th; if you want a 2 year warranty that survives a resale, since Kurono's is 1 year and voids inside 6 months on the secondary market; or if a Swiss movement matters at $1,850, since Serica's 1174 at $1,760, MONTA's Noble at $1,895 and anOrdain's Model 1 at £1,790 all carry one, and all publish a lug-to-lug.

Where it sits against the field

At $1,850 the three-hand Kuronos sit with Serica's 1174 Parade at $1,760 on a COSC Soprod at 8.2 mm, MONTA's Noble 38.5 at $1,895 on a Sellita SW300 base with 150 m, anOrdain's Model 1 at £1,790 with an in-house enamel dial, and Zelos's Comet 39 at $2,099 with the same meteorite on a Peseux. Every one of those runs a Swiss calibre; the Kurono runs a Miyota 90S5, and the high-end ranking leaves the brand off for that reason and for the Diver's third-party price. At $2,380 the Calendrier's triple calendar meets Charlie Paris's Soprod moonphase at €1,795 and Farer's Stratton at $2,075. What Kurono has that none of them has is Asaoka, and a sale that ends in a day.

Questions people ask

Where are Kurono Tokyo watches made?

Japan. Every product page says Made in Japan, and the brand does not name the assembly site. The watches are designed by Hajime Asaoka, the Tokyo independent watchmaker, and run Miyota movements: the 90S5 automatic in the 37 mm three-handers and the 9122 triple calendar in the 38 mm Calendrier. The 2026 Diver's calibre is not stated.

How do you buy a Kurono Tokyo watch?

In a timed online window on kuronotokyo.com, one order per customer, or by pre-order in person at the salons in Tokyo Aoyama and Shanghai. Each model gets one window and is not repeated; the Anniversary Malachite had two on 28 May 2026 and the Calendrier SBR has one on 24 September 2026 at 23:00 JST. The Diver was sold by ballot. Prices are in US dollars excluding VAT and duties.

What is the difference between the Kurono Anniversary Malachite and the Calendrier SBR?

Size, movement and $530. The Malachite is 37 mm on a Miyota 90S5 three-hand automatic with a malachite dial, $1,850, and its windows closed in May 2026. The Calendrier SBR is 38 mm on a Miyota 9122 triple calendar showing month, day and date, in Saxe blue, $2,380, with its single window on 24 September 2026. Both are 11.5 mm thick with the box crystal and rated to 50 m.

Where this brand is mentioned