Thirteen divers from $85 to $495, nine automatic and four solar or quartz, every price from the maker's own page on 19 September 2026. The change this year is what is missing: the Traska, Lorier and Nodus divers the older lists still put here have all moved above $650.
Checked 19 September 2026 · list prices on the maker's site that day unless marked street
Under $500 in 2026 buys a sapphire crystal, a 200 m rating and a ceramic or sapphire bezel insert from four of the nine makers on this page, which was not true when most of the pages ranking for this search were written. It does not reliably buy a Swiss movement (San Martin sells a Sellita SW200 as a paid upgrade; nothing else here has one) or a stated assembly location (San Martin and Islander do not say; Vaer states it per model). The table has the numbers; the entries say what each maker leaves out.
The line is the list price on the maker's site on 19 September 2026, not a street price and not a coupon, and that rule empties the bracket of several watches the older lists still carry. The Traska Freediver is $735, the Lorier Neptune $699, the Seiko SRPE93 Turtle $525, and the Orient Kamasu $580 at Orient USA's own compare-at figure even though it sells for $375 on the same page. Each is in the section at the end with its current figure, and the under-$1,000 list has the ones that moved up.
Order is editorial: what the spec sheet gives against the money, with availability counted. Three of the eleven were sold out on the check date (the Zelos and the Seiko 5 Sports at the maker, the Seiko solar at the retailer whose list price is quoted), and the San Martin figure is a sale price the brand changes often. Read the lug-to-lug column before the diameter; it runs 44.5 mm to 49 mm and it decides fit.
List price on the maker's own site on the check date, under $500. Sale prices are named as sale prices; San Martin's entry is the brand's displayed price on the day, which its own site marks as discounted.
Specs from the maker's product page, linked under each entry. Where a maker publishes no lug-to-lug or lug width the field shows a dash and the entry says so.
Sapphire, or a stated reason for its absence: the Casio, Citizen and Seiko 5 Sports have mineral or Hardlex and are here for price, ISO compliance and search demand respectively.
One diver per brand, unless two are different families (Islander's SKX-platform 38 mm and its Miyota 9015 Northport; Seiko's 5 Sports and Prospex).
Nothing whose spec sheet could not be fetched on the check date.
Ø40 mm · automatic · 300 m · $389 · 300 m · grade 5 titanium · sale price
San Martin SN0111-T Grade 5 Titanium Diver 40mm
40 × 47.5 mm · ref 40 × 47
MovementPT5000 automatic (SW200 also offered)
Case40 mm
Lug to lug47.5 mm
Thickness13.1 mm
Lug width20 mm
Water resistance300 m
Crystalsapphire, no cyclops, AR
Bezelunidirectional ceramic, luminous 12 marker
LumeBGW-9 blue
Case materialGrade 5 titanium (TC4)
Price$389
This is the most metal for $389 on the list, with San Martin's usual caveats. Grade 5 titanium at 40 mm, 47.5 mm lug-to-lug, 13.1 mm thick, 300 m, sapphire with no cyclops, a ceramic unidirectional bezel and a grade 5 titanium bracelet tapering 20 to 16 mm. The movement is a PT5000, a Chinese clone of the ETA 2824; a Sellita SW200 costs more. $389 was the displayed price on the check date, marked 30% off; San Martin's prices move weekly. Two-year warranty, a Dongguan address, assembly not stated. For $60 more the Islander Northport is steel, 200 m and sold from a shop on Long Island. The steel 6200-style 38 mm on an NH35 is $275; see the San Martin guide.
$449 buys a Miyota 9015, the 28,800 bph movement that costs $700 and up from most microbrands, in a 40.5 mm diver from Long Island Watch's house brand. 47 mm lug-to-lug, 12.5 mm thick, 20 mm lugs, 200 m, flat sapphire with AR, a 120-click coin-edge bezel with a luminous sapphire insert, BGW9, a bracelet tapering 20 to 16 mm. One-year warranty; the brand does not say where its automatics are assembled. Against the Islander 38 mm below it is $120 more for a thinner case and a higher-beat movement without the day-date; against the San Martin it is $60 more for steel and a shorter warranty. The 37 mm Northport at $429 was out of stock in every dial. The Islander guide lists the full range.
Buy the Citizen for the ISO wording and the five-year warranty, and accept a mineral crystal for it. It is the one entry here Citizen states as ISO-compliant and the one with the least to service: a solar E168 with a six-month reserve. 44 mm, 49 mm lug-to-lug, the longest on the list, 12 mm thick, 20 mm lugs, 200 m, mineral with AR. Citizen's list is $450; its own site showed $360 on the check date and Long Island Watch had it at $296, sold out. At $429 the Vaer D4 is 3 mm shorter and sapphire, without the ISO wording. The automatic Promaster NY0158 is $575 and over the bracket.
$429 buys the diver Vaer is known for, and the USA assembly stated on its page is the reason to pay it over the DS4. 39 mm, 46 mm lug-to-lug, 11.96 mm without the crystal (13.18 mm with), 20 mm lugs, 200 m, single-domed sapphire, a lumed ceramic bezel, 20 layers of X1 lume, an Epson VS22 solar movement. The cheaper Vaer divers are assembled in Hong Kong per their own pages: the DS4 at $299 (42 mm, 48 mm lug-to-lug) and the DS2 quartz at $239 (150 m). $429 is the FKM strap price; the 42 mm is $449 and the bracelet takes it to $549. The automatic D5 in this case is $729. Full table in the Vaer guide.
The smallest and thinnest Seiko diver in the data, and the thinnest watch on this list at 11 mm: 38 mm, 46 mm lug-to-lug, 20 mm lugs, sapphire, 200 m, a V147 solar movement Seiko rates at ten months of reserve. The price needs a footnote: Seiko USA's product page returned a 404 on the check date, so $495 is Long Island Watch's stated list, where it was sold out; the black-dial SNE573 on silicone lists at $475 there, on sale at $380. The 42.8 mm SNE589 is ISO 6425 certified and $525, just over the line. For $66 less the Vaer D4 is the same 46 mm lug-to-lug with USA assembly and a ceramic bezel.
The pick for a wrist under 6.5 inches: the shortest lug-to-lug on the list at 44.5 mm, on a 38 mm case built to take SKX013 parts. 13 mm thick, Seiko NH36 day-date, 200 m, flat sapphire with AR underneath, a 120-click bezel with a luminous ceramic insert, a screw-link steel bracelet, $329. Islander does not print the lug width on this page. The 42 mm crown-at-3 Islander is $349 at 47 mm lug-to-lug and the 43 mm SKX007-size is $329 at 46 mm; a sibling with a sapphire Pepsi insert (ISL-49) is the same price and was out of stock. For $21 more the Seiko 5 SRPD55 gives the name and gives back 100 m of rating and the sapphire. One-year warranty, assembly not stated.
Buy the Swordfish if there is one to buy; every variant showed sold out on 19 September 2026, and Zelos sells in drops and does not restock. The November 2025 listing was $399 (earlier Swordfish 40 runs were $349): 40 mm, 46 mm lug-to-lug, 12 mm thick, 20 mm lugs, Seiko NH35, 200 m, flat sapphire with inner AR, a 120-click ceramic bezel, C3 or BGW9 lume by dial. A 42 mm and titanium or bronze versions ran $399 to $549. On paper it is 1 mm thinner than either Islander, with a ceramic bezel and no day-date, for $50 less than the Northport. In practice the comparison is with whichever one is buyable the week you look.
$320 buys a super-compressor-style diver with an internal 60-minute ring turned by the second crown, and the thickest case on the list at 14.8 mm. 40 mm, 45.7 mm lug-to-lug, 22 mm lugs, Seiko NH35, 200 m. The crystal is Dan Henry's sapphire-coated double-domed mineral, not sapphire through, which is why it sits below the Zelos despite costing less. Each colour is limited to 1,970 pieces; there is a 44 mm version and a date or no-date choice. The 22 mm lug width on a 40 mm case is unusual in the bracket and narrows the strap options. For $9 more the Islander 38 mm is full sapphire and 1.2 mm shorter, with a conventional bezel.
This is the watch most people mean by "Seiko 5 diver", and its rating is stated plainly: 100 m, non-screw-down crown, Hardlex, not an ISO diver. 42.5 mm, 46 mm lug-to-lug, 13.4 mm thick, 22 mm lugs, 4R36 automatic, unidirectional bezel, LumiBrite, $350 at Seiko USA. Sold out there and at Long Island Watch ($280 sale) on the check date. The Islander 38 mm gives 200 m, sapphire and the same NH36-family movement for $21 less; the Seiko gives the name. Buy it for that, knowing what it is.
$280 is Spinnaker's compare-at price and $209 was the Nomad colourway's selling price on the check date, which is the brand's pattern: current prices on new dials, older dials cheaper on the same page. 40 mm, 47 mm lug-to-lug, 13.8 mm thick, 20 mm lugs, Seiko NH35, 150 m, sapphire with AR, luminous indices. The product page does not state the bezel type, and 150 m is the lowest rating among the automatics here. For $40 more the Dan Henry is 200 m with a compressor ring; for the same $280 nothing else on the list is both sapphire and automatic. The Fleuss 40 with a Miyota 9039 sits at exactly $500, on the line rather than under it.
The floor of the bracket and the only watch under $100: $84.95 on casio.com for a 200 m quartz diver with an anti-reverse aluminium bezel. Casio publishes the case as 48.5 by 44.2 by 12.1 mm, which reads as 44.2 mm across and 48.5 mm lug-to-lug, 0.5 mm shorter than the Citizen and 0.1 mm thicker. Mineral crystal, no ISO rating, no lug width on the page. It is the reference for everything above it: each extra dollar on this list buys sapphire, an automatic movement, a ceramic insert or a name, and the Duro has none of those and the same depth rating. The next rung up is the Spinnaker at $209 on sale, automatic, sapphire and 50 m shallower.
Two more under the line at list, both Orient, both at a compare-at figure the maker itself sells below, and both on a mineral crystal, which is why they sit here rather than in the ranked list. Same case, same movement family, same $465; the dial is the difference.
$465 is Orient USA's compare-at price for the Mako II and $285 is what it sold it for on the check date, in stock, which makes the list figure the least useful number on the page. 41.5 mm, 13 mm thick, 22 mm lugs, 200 m, a mineral crystal, a unidirectional 120-click bezel, the F6922 automatic, on the bracelet. No credible lug-to-lug: Long Island Watch prints 41.5 mm, the same as the diameter, so the cell is a dash. Against the Seiko 5 Sports SRPD55 at $350: 100 m deeper, $115 more at list, and $65 less at Orient's own selling price.
The Mako II's case with the other dial, the same $465 compare-at and $290 selling at Orient USA on the check date, in stock: 41.5 mm, 13 mm thick, 22 mm lugs, 200 m, hardened mineral, a unidirectional 120-click bezel, the F69 automatic, a steel bracelet. Long Island Watch has only a scratch-and-dent listing for the Ray II, which is where the specs come from, so the row is medium confidence. The $5 between the two Orients at the selling price is the dial. For $39 more than Orient's selling figure the Islander 38 mm above is sapphire at 44.5 mm lug-to-lug; the Orient is the larger watch.
Orient Kamasu is on more incumbent lists than any other watch and is over the line at list: Orient USA's own page shows $580 compare-at and $375 selling, and it is on the under-$750 list. Seiko SRPE93 Turtle ($525, sold out at Seiko USA), Seiko SNE589 ($525, 42.8 mm solar, ISO 6425) and Citizen Promaster NY0158 ($575, the NY0040's successor) are on the under-$1,000 list, as are the Boldr Odyssey 2.0 ($799), Traska Freediver ($735), Lorier Neptune ($699) and the Nodus Sector divers (from $650), which were all under $500 when the older lists were written. Spinnaker Fleuss 40 (Miyota 9039) is $500 exactly, on the line rather than under it, and is in the Spinnaker guide. San Martin 6200 ($275) lost the slot to the titanium SN0111-T on spec and is on the under-$300 list; the 62mas 37 mm ($306) is in the San Martin guide. Islander Bayport ($349, 48 mm lug-to-lug) is on the automatic under-$500 list and the 42 and 43 mm SKX-size Islanders are in the Islander guide. Vaer DS4 ($299) is in the Vaer guide and the DS2 ($239) on the under-$300 list.
Questions people ask
Which dive watches under $500 are ISO 6425 rated?
One: Citizen states the BN0150 as ISO-compliant. The Casio Duro and the Seiko 5 Sports SRPD55 are not ISO divers (the Seiko is 100 m with a non-screw-down crown). Seiko's SNE589 at $525 is ISO 6425 certified but over the line, as is the King Turtle SRPE03 at $650. The microbrand entries state 200 m or 300 m without an ISO claim.
What replaced the Seiko SKX under $500?
Islander's 38, 42 and 43 mm divers, built on the SKX footprint with 200 m, a screw-down crown and Seiko NH36 movements, at $329, $349 and $329. Seiko's own successor is the 5 Sports SRPD line, which dropped to 100 m and a push-pull crown. The Islander guide has every reference.
Is a solar dive watch a worse buy than an automatic?
Not on this list. The two solar entries, Seiko's Prospex and Citizen's Promaster, carry sapphire or an ISO claim that the automatic Seiko 5 Sports does not, and they need no service interval. What you give up is the mechanical movement itself and, on the Citizen, sapphire. Vaer's D4 at $429 is solar with USA assembly; the same case with a Miyota 9015 is $729.
What is the shortest lug-to-lug dive watch under $500?
The Islander 38 mm at 44.5 mm, then the Dan Henry 1970 at 45.7 mm, then the Vaer D4, Seiko SNE585 and Zelos Swordfish 40 at 46 mm. The Citizen BN0150 (49 mm) and Casio Duro (48.5 mm) are the longest. On most wrists lug-to-lug decides fit before the diameter does.